Warning: "continue" targeting switch is equivalent to "break". Did you mean to use "continue 2"? in /home/motors/public_html/plugins/system/t3/includes/menu/megamenu.php on line 141
MotorSports NT News

The Territory Labor Government continues to deliver for motor sport in the Territory with the construction of Motor Sports House at Hidden Valley nearly a third of the way complete.
Local company C & R Constructions Pty Ltd were awarded a contract for $4.9 million to design and construct the new Motor Sports House, which will provide a central corporate meeting place for industry and events.
It’s estimated this project will create more than 30 jobs during construction.
Cranes are arriving on site this week to start installing the structural steel, with completion still anticipated for mid-year.
There are more than 5,000 licenced motor sport competitors, pit crew, volunteers and officials in the Territory with over 160,000 spectators at motor sports events annually.
Every year, Hidden Valley Motor Sports Complex hosts a range of motor sport races and club events, including the Supercar Championship Series, drift events and drag racing along with providing a home to a number of motor sports clubs.
This project will bring the facilities in line with other Australian motor sport venues while benefitting a range of motor sports clubs with provisions for a hot desk facilities and much needed new administration space, training and conference rooms.
The building will complement the range of upgrades to the complex, including new broadcast quality lighting to the drag strip track, hydraulic upgrades and new safety tyre walls and upgrades to the drags spectator safety area.
Works have been programmed to ensure minimal disruption to activities of Hidden Valley Motor Sports Complex.
Quotes from the Minister for Tourism, Sport and Culture, Lauren Moss:
“The Territory Labor Government’s top priority is creating jobs.
“We are investing over $13 million into motor sport infrastructure across the Territory, because we know how much motor sport means to competitors and spectators.
“Motor Sports House is a key component of this investment that will allow motor sports to continue to grow and flourish.
“Motor sport events across the Territory bring thousands of tourists here each year. This provides a great boost for the economy, encouraging further tourism opportunities and supporting local jobs across the economy.”

Thank-you to all who attended and supported the Inaugural MotorSports NT / Motorsport Austraila Motorsport Awards on Saturday Night at Sky City, Beachside Pavilion.
Special thanks to Charlie King who was the MC for the night.
Special thanks to Thomas Maxwell and Bryce Fullwood who were the guest speakers for the night.
Thank-you to Debbie Turner for presenting the MSNT Affiliated Club Volunteer awards.

Huge THANK-YOU to our Sponsors of the Night:
Northern Territory Government
10 Darwin
NT News
Zip Print
10 Central

CAMS Service Awards
Adam Burgan – Motorsport Chaplain
Phillip Zamagias - Motorsport Chaplain

MotorSports NT Affiliate Club Volunteer of the Year Awards
Michele Thompson - APSA
Chris Gibson - ASMCC
Benjamin Oliver - ASORRC
Joshua Graveling - CADRA
Evan Vale - CARS
Gavin Law - Nhulunbuy Speedway
Greg Logan - TEMRA
Jimmy Mann - DSRDA
Angela Menzies - TCSC
Tim Gwynne - DMCC
John Brown - HVDRA
Gary Kohlman - AHMA
Arie Mombers - DKA
Tony Connor - ASKC
Stewart Baehnisch - TEDA
Deborah Townsend - TERRA
Brett Edwards - KMSC
Jodi Abela - TEMCC
Dallas Window - TQA

Northern Territory Official of the Year
Leonie Kerr CARS

Junior Official of the Year - Joshua Graveling CADRA

MSNT Club Administrator of the Year Honours 
Dallas Window - TQA
Natasha Langkowski - AHMA
Sharon Sealy - DKA
Jenny Henwood - DMCC
Caleb Gotts - DSRDA
Rebecca Thomsen - KMSC
Justin Neck - HVDRA
Jake Burgess - NAMSC

MSNT Club Administrator of the Year Overall Winner
Caleb Gotts - DSRDA

Club Milestone Award
Finke Desert Race Club

Driver/Rider Awards
NT Circuit Driver of the Year - Marian Bujnowski
NT Drifter of the Year - Patrick Barlee
NT Motorkhana/Khanacross Driver of the Year - Chris McCormack.
NT Mud Racing Driver of the Year - Rod Gobell
NT Rally Driver of the Year - Phillip Kerr
NT Enduro Rider of the Year - Daniel Field
NT Karter of the Year - Tony Connor
NT Rider of the Year - Kristian Agostini
NT Quad Rider of the Year - Brandon Geers
NT Speedway Driver of the Year - Chace Karpenko
NT Off Road Driver of the Year - Darren Wright
NT Drag Racer of the Year - Craig Hodge
NT Road Bike Rider of the Year - Joel Kelso
NT Motocross Rider of the Year - Jayden O’Connor

Future Star Award - Ben Atkinson Jnr

State Event of the Year - Finke Desert Race

Northern Territory Motorsport Person of the Year - Leonie Kerr

The Confederation of Australian Motor Sport (CAMS) and MotorSports NT (MSNT) have further cemented their partnership and will continue to work closely on a number of projects in the future.

The recognition of Territorian champions within the Territory is one of those projects CAMS and MSNT had discussed, with confirmation a Motor Sports NT Awards night will be held in the next 12 months.

Both organisations have now agreed there was a need to recognise the Champions of NT motor sport in the Territory.

Top End Moto Cross Club member, Pieter Beukes, was awarded the 2017 MotorSports NT Volunteer of the Year Award at their recent club presentation. Pieter received the award for consistently investing many hours of his own time and often late at night assisting in getting the track ready for race meets.

Pieter beukes

Central Australian Drag Racing Association Treasurer, Helen Mills, was awarded the 2017 MotorSports NT Volunteer of the Year Award at their recent club presentation night. Helen became Treasurer in 2015 and has worked extremely hard to put CADRA back on its feet financially. She is also CADRA's licensee, organises their canteen, organises and maintains the club merchandise and stock. Helen isn't afraid to work alongside 'the boys' at working bees and is always friendly and approachable. She has been a solid, hardworking team member for the past 3 years.

helen mills

Page 2 of 4

Facebook page